Star Wars Thoughts

Star-Wars-7-Character-Guide-Finn-Rey

In an attempt to put out emails to my followers more than just randomly, I will try and do a post at least weekly from here on.  What better way to start than with my thoughts on the new space opera movie that just came out?!?  So this will serve as not only my review of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, the seventh installment of the Star Wars saga, but also my thoughts on where we’re headed and who we’re headed there with.  This will not be spoiler free, in fact, it will be spoiler filled.  If you have not seen the film yet, seriously, what the hell is wrong with you?  I’ve seen it twice!

So long break before I get into it…

So let’s get into it shall we? First and foremost, I loved this movie.  Keeping in mind I’ve seen this movie twice in two days, I can attest to the fact that it gets better with each viewing. My initial impression has TFA as coming in a close third behind The Empire Strikes back and A New Hope.  After my second viewing, I would say I now have a 2-way tie for second place between A New Hope and TFA. The appeal of this film for me was it’s classic Star Wars feel, dirty and lived in, but with the darkness we had in the original trilogy.  Unlike the three prequel movies, TFA didn’t feel shiny and new. Well it kinda did, but not anywhere close to Episodes 1-3. The inclusion of Mark Hamill, Harrison Ford and Carrie Fisher helped bring it all home, but with the exception of Han/Harrison, it was all for nostalgia purposes, not much was added I thought…for now.  Luke was the mcguffin and Leia just a new Mon Mothma, but the movie would’ve worked without them, Leia to a greater extent than Luke.

My initial impressions of our new bad guy were that a) he’s a complete spoiled asshole (temper tantrums with a lightsaber anyone??) and b) Adam Driver came off as a little stiff.  Upon my second viewing, I was able to pay more attention to the subtleties of his performance and this helped me greatly in relating to his character.  Is he flawed? Oh hell yes, but is he a relatable villain, I think he is now.  The cards were stacked against this kid from the start…Blood of Vader, he has the “lesser” branch of the Force being Leia’s son (I’m making the assumption that Leia, if Force-sensitive, is not the powerhouse Luke is, hence her being a General and not living on an island in the middle of some ocean) and worries he’s not good enough, as well as the fact that he’s Han Solo’s son, the guy known for being a scoundrel and a cheat across the entire galaxy.  Ben Solo had no chance of being the disciplined Jedi of old and I think the Jedi Council would have passed on him as they tried to pass on Anakin.  I’m currently thinking Kylo Ren is beyond redemption at this point, we’ll see what the other movies reveal.

Finn (or the new Han Solo as I’ve come to see him) was so great.  Great acting on the part of John Boyega, great casting, he was amazing (also side note, I loved seeing a black Storm Trooper and hearing female Storm Troopers!). He added lots of great humor and seeing him and Daisy Ridley’s Rey interact was pure joy.  Their chemistry as actors was so great, it was the original trilogy all over again.  Loved his arc in this film and I look forward to seeing more.

Finally, I want to talk about Rey.  I am so happy with Rey. In Rey we have a strong female, smart, funny, a leader, humble and able to hold her own against Kylo Ren whether by a Force powers battle or lightsaber battle.  She doesn’t need Finn holding her hand as they evade TIE fighters and she doesn’t need to be rescued when facing down Kylo Ren. She is a thoughtfully contructed character with depth and emotion and I would be proud if my own daughter wanted to be Rey for Halloween next year. No offence to Princess Leia, but Rey is a fucking warrior! Girl Power! Hell yeah! It should also be noted that TFA passed the Bechel Test with flying colors.

Speaking of Rey, I’m going to make my prediction now that her being the daughter of Luke will be the worst-kept secret of the trilogy.  Unless she is a true orphan, which I highly doubt, she is Luke’s daughter…somehow.  The visions pulled from her mind by Kylo Ren, the flashbacks when she touched Luke/Anakin’s lightsaber, the fact that R2D2 didn’t reactivate until she entered the room and the grave next to Luke on the outcropping all prove to me her lineage.  She’s a powerful Force user. If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck…It’s a Jedi.

Needless to say, I have been impressed and pleased greatly with this movie.  Thank you JJ Abrams and Disney for making this a reality.  I can’t wait to see where we go from here.

 

Don’t forget to sign up for my mailing list and get an email every time I make a post.  It’s worth it I swear!

Leave a Reply

