Am I done?

I’ve been getting this question a lot lately and the answer is…kinda. So last night, I think I may have finished a ROUGH first draft of book 2. I say rough because I know there are a few plot points I have since added to my outline I will go back later and plug in to the story. Then, I am going to write an epilogue. Not quite sure if I will end of up using it, there is something to be said about leaving things to people’s imaginations, but it’s also the last book in the 2-book series so we’ll see if it fits or not.

As far as a timeline for this book, I am way ahead of where I thought I would be at this point, I didn’t think I would get to this point in my story until the end of the summer-ish this year, but here we are! The last few chapters came fast and furious, what can I say I love writing action! Book’s at about 62,000 words, which is about 18K short of book 1 but I knew this one might be shorter, we’ll see. Since I’m self-publishing, I’m not that hung up on length.

Once the missing points are added in and the epilogue is written, then I will be going back and re-reading and editing about 80,000 times, as I do. Once I get the story to a point where I’m just a few full edits from being complete, I’ll start my search for book covers, outside editors, etc etc but that’s pretty far off.

And the journey continues…

Leave a Reply

