Turning Point

So I have been hinting at it for a while, but I have finally made the decision to go ahead with self-publishing!  I was going back and forth for a while, but I have been heading in that direction for a while.  So now that I am set on this path and the last of the query letters I sent out are all past their time frames for responses, I have taken the plunge!

The first big thing I did was start telling people I wrote a book.  That was incredibly nerve-wracking.  I called one of my best friends to see if he would be willing to read and I was so nervous!  Luckily everyone I asked to read the book all said they would and all were supportive, so hopefully when they’re done, they will be so kind as to post positive reviews on Amazon.  Yep, that’s where I’m publishing and I’m doing Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) Select.  That means a 90 day exclusive deal with them, but really, who cares, I would be selling there regardless.

This is what I have done thus far since deciding I’m self-publishing: I have created a bank account for any royalties I might get, I created an author account with Amazon for publishing, I have painstakingly formatted my novel in Word so it uploads correctly, registered on CreateSpace, bought an ISBN number, and enlisted a graphic designer.  I am going for the as-cheap-as-possible route, so they only things I have paid for is the ISBN, which appears to be unavoidable, and a graphic designer, which is recommended by everyone because, contrary to the phrase, people really do judge a book by its cover.  Hopefully when all said and done, I’ll have only spent about $300 but we’ll see.

Everything is done, I’m just waiting on my art to be done in about two weeks and since I don’t want to put my book out there until I have a cover, everything is waiting on that.

And the journey continues…

3 thoughts on “Turning Point

  1. Has it been read by anyone? I totally get the “cheap-as-possible” route. I’ve done it myself. But, having a few (objective) beta readers put their eyes to the work before it goes out into the world can make a huge difference. Good luck and welcome to the club! 🙂

    • It has! (Or is currently) I have several friends/family outside my editor whom are reading it right now. Will hold off on pressing that publish button until they finish

  2. Pingback: KINDLE BOOKS ON EDIGZ

Leave a Reply

